Halfway! - Reisverslag uit Christchurch, Nieuw Zeeland van Ilonka Nennie - WaarBenJij.nu Halfway! - Reisverslag uit Christchurch, Nieuw Zeeland van Ilonka Nennie - WaarBenJij.nu

Halfway!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ilonka

06 September 2015 | Nieuw Zeeland, Christchurch

Hi again!

At this point I am halfway the semester, which mostly means that I am drowning in projects and tests and assignments. No okay, it's not that bad, but I am quite busy with school right now.

So I did not do many interesting things during this week. Mostly it was recovering and resting from the midsemester break and the fact that my parent went home again. And sporting, because I am a weird person and when I am stressed I go to the gym. This week that was seven times in five days and my body was like 'nooooo' after the two weeks of rest it had had. But it did help and the stress reduced and the second half of the week I felt a lot better.

Friday was a field trip day but because I did not have a field trip, I had the day off. But I had plans for saturday and sunday and I have a project due next week so my day was not so free. Of course I did sleep in and when I finally had the courage to get out of bed, I began working on my project. I thought I could do it in two hours but yeah not really.. I was like half way then, but it was time for a break. With two friends I went to Hillyer's (the local bakery) to get lunch. I ate meatpie for the first time in my life and it was amazing ;D After that I had a piece of rhubarb/apple pie and after that I think I will have lunch more often there. They make real good food! And we talked about the midsemesterbreak and it was a lot of fun, but unfortunately I had to get back to my project. It was an awesome lunchbreak though! I worked one more hour on my project and then did zumba at the gym: another welcome break! Afterwards I had to cook for my weekend (yes I will tell you about it in a sec), pack my stuff and finish my project. In the end of the day I finally managed to do that, so it was a useful day.

Yes blablabla about school, that's boring I know. My weekend trips are way more exciting! This weekend I really wanted to go on a multiple day hike, so after being turned down by many people because of school, other plans, too difficult, etc etc I finally found a tramping partner. Which meant we left together for Mt Somers in the morning. There was forecasted some rain, but we started off with a beautiful clear sky! It was a real nice walk through the forest and then through grasslands on the mountains. There was an old coalmine there which we could see the remains off and that was pretty cool. Unfortunately, we were really exposed on the grasslands and the wind started blowing and it started raining a little. This made it cold and a bit more difficult, but soon our hut was in sight. We were planning to spend the night in this hut but we walked way faster then expected, so after warming up at the fire place and waiting for the sun to come out again, we left for the second hut. All clouds had disappeared and we had a great view on the snowy mountains from this part of the walk. Ont he other side were rocky cliffs going straight up. It was really cool, but after a few hours we were ready to arrive at the hut. But after every hill.. was another hill.. and another one.. till finally: smoke coming out of the forest! At the hut we were exhausted from the 6 hour (!) walk, but fortunately the fire was burning and there were some other people. They also had some lights, so even when it was dark we could still chat instead of going to bed straight away (not that we thought that was too bad ;)) It was a good time and fun to meet some new people! The night was cold, because my sleeping bag was way to thin, so I did not sleep that well, but at least my legs could rest. The next morning we left to go back to the first hut again. And wow, it had turned into a winter wonderland, because it had been snowing at night! So stunning! This made it fun to walk the same way back, because it looked totally different! Back at the first hut, we took a different route to the carpark then the first day. This started with a 500 m climb, which was pretty tough! But we made it and the view was totally worth it! The way down was really muddy so in the end we were really wet and tired. We could barely walk normal anymore :p So when we arrived at the car, we were happy to change into some dry clothes and go home to a warm shower. It was a great weekend and I really enjoyed doing it! It was hard and exhausting, because I had never done this before, but really worth it!

Thanks for reading again and till next week!
xxxxxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nieuw Zeeland, Christchurch

Ilonka

Actief sinds 18 Juli 2015
Verslag gelezen: 176
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6021

Voorgaande reizen:

07 Juli 2015 - 15 December 2015

Nieuw Zeeland

Landen bezocht: