Only two weeks left - Reisverslag uit Christchurch, Nieuw Zeeland van Ilonka Nennie - WaarBenJij.nu Only two weeks left - Reisverslag uit Christchurch, Nieuw Zeeland van Ilonka Nennie - WaarBenJij.nu

Only two weeks left

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ilonka

04 Oktober 2015 | Nieuw Zeeland, Christchurch

Hi! :D

Wow, time did fly by! Only two more weeks of class now and then finals and the semester is over.. I am so glad that I will stay a little longer afterwards. I have seen quite a lot of New Zealand already, but there is still so much more to see! And I absolutely love this country.

I have not been up to much special this week, so just a short blog again. Well monday I was still on the hiking trip like I wrote in the blog from last week. The rest of the week I just had school, needed to finish some last aasignments, went to the gym and skyped with some people back home. On wednesday evening I had a potluck with some friends, which was a lot of fun. I had made a Russian rice pie and it turned out really well. Mom always makes it, so it reminded me of home. :) Thursday evening there was the last happy hour for international students at the bar on campus. That was fun and there was a photo competition in which I won the third price with my photo at the Moeraki boulders. On friday evening there were the student and staff awards and after that I chilled at home with my house mates for a little bit.

Saturday morning I first went to the gym and then me and my house mate left for Arthur's pass. We first had lunch at the Famous Sheffield Pie shop which has the 'best pies of New Zealand'. We had a Maroccan Lamb pie with Raspberry brownie as dessert and it was really good! Then we drove further to cave stream. This is a cave of almost 600 m long with a stream running through it. You can walk through it. The water is really cold because of all the snow melt right now, so we put on some warm clothes and went in. It was amazing!! So incredible! It was completely dark inside (of course we had torches) and at the beginning the water came till halfway our back. Some parts were a bit narrow and the water was flowing fast. Other parts were wide and very high and with slow flowing water. We climbed some small waterfalls and after about 40 minutes we came out of the other side. What a special experience! And it was not even that cold. We were lucky, because outside the weather was very good so we dried up a bit in the sun and put some dry clothes on. After that we went to Castle Hill. Here are some giant rocks which you can climb on and walk between. Really impressive and cool to see! After that we went home and in the evening I went to the bar in town with some friends.

Sunday morning I went to the gym very early. A friend who does not live on campus invited us over for a brunch, so I walked half an hour to her place. It was great to catch up and the food was amazing. Then in the afternoon I had the birthday of one of my housemates, so we just chilled and ate a lot of food and cake. It was a lot of fun and great to meet some new people again. I just ate way to much, like I always tend to do if there is a lot of food around. Glad I normally eat at home and not in the dining hall, because with a buffet every day I would over eat every day.

It was a really nice and relaxed week. The weather was amazing, I even got a tan! So I spend a lot of time outside, enjoying the sun.

Thanks for reading again. Miss and love you lots!
Xxxxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nieuw Zeeland, Christchurch

Ilonka

Actief sinds 18 Juli 2015
Verslag gelezen: 216
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6037

Voorgaande reizen:

07 Juli 2015 - 15 December 2015

Nieuw Zeeland

Landen bezocht: